The most prevalent eight oil and gas states that possess NORM/TENORM regulations are: Arkansas, Louisiana, Mississippi, New Mexico, North Dakota, Ohio, Texas, and West Virginia.

After a recent review of states that possess NORM/TENORM-specific regulations, the following states can be added to the list: Florida, Georgia, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, New Jersey, Oregon, and South Carolina.

Even though some states do not possess NORM/TENORM-specific regulations, they may have regulations concerning radium or uranium concentration restrictions in produced water released into surface waters, or plug and abandonment for wells. These states include: Kentucky, Pennsylvania, and Wyoming.

Comments are closed.

Norm Lady